New chief, council for Bigstone FN

Joe McWilliams
Lakeside Leader

Members of the Bigstone Cree Nation elected former councillor Clara Moberly as chief on Oct. 29. Moberly was one of nine people looking for the job of replacing long-time chief Gordon Auger, who did not run again. The others were Larry Cardinal, Freda Alook-Gambler, Romeo Cardinal, Silas Yellowknee, Gloria Anderson, Verna Orr, Darrell Anderson and Brian R. Auger.

Yellowknee finished a fairly close second in the voting, with 305 votes to Moberly’s 336. Romeo Cardinal placed third with 194 votes.

Moberly was one of three incumbent councillors seeking to become chief. The others were Freda Alook-Gambler and Gloria Anderson.

Polling stations for the election were set up far and wide – the furthest being in Fort St. John B.C.! Slave Lake and Edmonton were the other off-reserve stations, both having significant populations of Bigstone members.

Thirty-five people ran for council positions from the Wabasca area, for six available positions. For the two Calling Lake positions on council, four people ran; five ran for two positions from Chipewyan Lake.

Winning election to council from Wabasca/Desmarais were Ken L. Alook, Dwayne Yellowknee, Helen Alook, Robert (Kapoor) Cardinal, Lawrence D. Oar and Don E. Gambler. The successful candidates from Calling Lake are Loretta J. Gladue and Lillian J. Anderson. From Chipewyan Lake the councillors for the new term are Ivan J. Alook and Stella Noskiye.

Ken Alook was the top vote-getter among councillors, with 414. Close behind in second place was Dwayne Yellowknee, at 409. In descending order from there, it was Helen Alook (389), Robert Cardinal (360), Lawrence Oar (358) and Don Gambler (314).

In the Calling Lake voting, Loretta Gladue finished in top spot with 90 votes, 12 more than Lillian Anderson. In Chip Lake the two successful candidates tied at 32.

Share this post

Post Comment